Showing posts with label migraines. Show all posts
Showing posts with label migraines. Show all posts

Monday, August 29, 2011

School updates

The kids are doing great in school. No problems with Brooklyn (at least none reported) and if Gage will just DO HIS WORK, he'll be in good shape too.

B's home with a belly ache today. She's been up and down for the last several hours and now has entered "the throw up phase" so we're hoping this will pass really soon, poor girl.

Gage's symptoms have ceased--again--. His sore along the scar line cleared so apparently it was an external scratch of some sort and not coming from underneath the skin. He had complained of pain on the one side only but after P.E. he ended up having to rotate his ci processors for a few hours but seemed okay after lunch. I'm assuming getting hot at P.E. made both his ci's throb but after he cooled off, he was fine...and no problems reported since....strange I know.



Thursday, June 25, 2009

Living with a Syndrome....

Today started as your average day, already planned out...Brook needed a quick hearing test (just procedural for the state to approve her final few SLP-speech language pathologist visits) and IF and only IF everyone behaved, we'd stop at the park. I needed a loaf of bread and we were gonna pass two small bread stores on the way so I asked Gage if he felt big enough to go in there alone? He very proudly said "sure, I can do that!" We pull into the parking lot and we both get out, I stand outside the car and he goes in (there's no other customers). He looks back and says maybe I can't do this, I can't see good. I smile and shoo him on in thinking he's making excuses, he's chickening out. He reluctantly goes in only to return with my money and his visual disturbance. We all go in to grab some bread (I grab Texas Toast by mistake) but I now have a potential "condition" on the horizon. This continues for ten minutes and the vision improves only to be followed by a severe headache. Brook had to go in the booth alone (thatagirl !) and now I'm back and forth between the room she's stationed at and the bathroom where Gage is stationed at as he now felt like he was going to throw up...but he doesn't. At least not until an hour later when we were finished and home and he does twice but luckily in the toilet. As I prepare for a virus (stocking the fridge w/Gatorade, checking for chicken noodle soup) the usual automatic mommy stuff, he goes to bed, demanding the light remain off along with his processors, and he goes to sleep...very unusual for him. An hour later he wakes and the ibuprofen helped (when Tylenol did nothing!) but didn't take the pain away but he was starving. He ate meal after meal and had not one stomach cramp/ache so at this point I'm concerned that it's not a virus. I even say to myself...I kinda wish I felt sick now. Though that doesn't happen, a quick phone call is made as my mind races who to call...pediatrician? or ci doctor?....Although I want to call the ci doc for everything I tell myself that this is really the ped's area and I know I can always call the ci surgeon if I feel unsure of the answers I get from other docs. Our pediatrician is out of town til next week but his nurse practitioner (who is GREAT!) calls me back, we discuss in detail the events and the previous events that occurred in Dec. (we stayed overnight for a similar episode w/out the visual impairment). We conclude that Gage is very likely having migraines. Makes a lot of sense! Last December (when he was having all the infection issues) he was fine one minute, then knocked off his feet (within minutes!!) literally, I had to carry him into the ER. He had numbness in his fingers, nearly hyperventilating, vomiting, but it started w/the headache. Anyway, so that's where we are. We assume he's having migraines, we'll watch for another episode, should one come soon, we take him to the nearest doc, should it come in six months, we're likely right about the migraines. If they start coming more often we'll take him to the pediatrician so they can check him. Six hours after the whole event started and he's outside in his cabin playing, as if it didn't happen. His processors are back on, he's just living with a syndrome.....
We never know what tomorrow will bring. Every time we turn around he has some type of new medical mystery but luckily we are surrounded by people who can figure things out and help me sleep at night! We never made it to the park today, I'll bribe them with that for Tuesday's visit w/the ci surgeon.....maybe they'll behave then.